Application Recovery

Top  Previous  Next

This help topic breaks down the technical details of application file (APP) recovery.

As an application is loaded for editing, any committed changes are written to both the in-memory database (if caching is on) and to the recovery file (*.AP~).

On an explicit APP saving (but leaving the APP open for editing) the APP recovery file is freed (truncating to size 0).

On APP closing, the recovery file is deleted.

Auto-Save Feature

If the recovery file's size exceeds the limit (set in Application Options), the Application Generator auto-saves the .APP file to disk.

The size you define for the recovery file determines the frequency of when the APP is auto-saved. Setting a smaller number means the App is saved more frequently. Note that the auto-save is equivalent to you doing an explicit save to disk.

If the Application Generator finds the recovery file on opening an APP, and this recovery file is older than the APP file, and its size is not 0, the user is queried to either recover the APP or open the last saved APP.

This last point means that an APP after canceling can be in another state than it was after its opening, even if no explicit saves have been performed. The backup file (*.BPP) must be used in this case to restore.

To disable the Auto Save feature set the size of the recovery file to a value of zero(0). A recovery file will always be created, but in this mode the recovery file is only saved when the application is explicitly saved or closed.